Reidar Visser stops posting on constitutional and rule of law issues in Iraq

August 6, 2012 at 12:29 pm | Posted in Turkmens | Leave a comment
Tags:

We will miss Reidar Visser’s “Iraq analysis”and comments very much.

Reidar Visser: 
When Police Stalking Causes Institutionalised Incompetence: The Oslo Police and the 22 July Terror Attacks
Dear subscribers,
This is probably the last update you will receive from historiae.org.
As you will see from the most recent article – available at http://policestalking.wordpress.com – the subject of my writings has shifted somewhat lately. I used to write on constitutional and rule of law issues in Iraq, and have done my best to offer a critical perspective on both Iraqi politicians and the Iraqi judiciary. However, having witnessed a shocking and grotesque case of extra-judicial punishment carried out by officials of the Norwegian, Dutch and other governments over the past year and a half, I can no longer continue to write critically about Iraq with a straight face. I had wanted to spend these days writing about how the situation in Iraq is impacted by what happens in Syria, the country in the Middle East where I have spent most of my time on the ground and where I have visited every corner. However, after having seen how we Europeans so savagely violate our own constitutions and human rights declarations, it would simply be hypocritical of me to engage in any sort of debate relating to transitional issues in a potential Syrian democratization.
I would like to take this opportunity for thanking all of you who have taken an interest in my Iraq research for the past 7 years. I hope that at least some of you will continue to take an interest as I now turn to writing critically about tyrants and torturers in the midst of our own so-called Western, liberal world. You can also follow me on Twitter where I will continue to tweet about Iraq occasionally at http://twitter.com/reidarvisser. For the article in this update, please click on http://policestalking.wordpress.com
Sincerely,
Reidar Visser

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

